Smaller Text | Reset Text | Larger Text | Hi-Contrast | Normal Contrast | Accessibility | RSS Feed

Tudor Monarchs

The House of Tudor produced five monarchs who ruled during the period 1485 to 1603:

Henry VII (1485-1509)

Henry VII became King of England when he defeated Richard III at the Battle of Bosworth Field. This ended a civil war known as the Wars of the Roses, establishing the Tudor dynasty. He married Elizabeth of York, creating a new family emblem from the white rose of York and the red rose of Lancaster.

Henry VIII (1509-1547)

The son of Henry VII, Henry VIII came to the throne when his father died. When the Pope refused to let him divorce Catherine of Aragon, the first of his six wives, he did so by establishing his own Church of England. His other wives were Anne Boleyn, Jane Seymour, Anne of Cleves, Catherine Howard and Catherine Parr.

Edward VI (1547-1553)

King for only six years, Edward died when he was just 15. A devoted Protestant, he made many changes to church services and introduced a new English prayer book.

Mary I (1553-1558)

Mary married Philip II of Spain. During her reign many people were killed for being Protestant and Mary was keen to make England a Catholic country once more. Mary wanted children but was unable to have them. When she died, her 25 year-old sister Elizabeth became queen.

Elizabeth I (1558-1603)

Elizabeth was a strong and formidable Protestant queen who became Supreme Governor of the Church of England. She dealt very firmly with anyone who disagreed with her beliefs. Her religion, and her relationships with other countries, led to war with Spain.

Lady Jane Grey (1553)

Although not a member of the House of Tudor, Lady Jane Grey was queen for nine days, in a failed bid to prevent Mary becoming Queen.

Site by Matrix